Portrait and skin tones

IMG_2870Having decided I would paint smaller paintings, I turned to some canvas paper had purchased years ago, but never did much with. I did not have a great experience with it previously, the paint just soaked right through. So I decided to apply a thin coat of acrylic paint to the background, and found a small squeeze bottle of acrylic craft paint, in teal (not my ideal color, but that I would just paint right over it.) This was a quick painting 5 x7 in of my son, Nathan. I was missing him this week as he left for camp for a week.  I should have started the portrait with a pencil sketch, but instead went straight to the paint. Although it doesn’t strongly resemble him, his face is much too squashed here, I do like the vibrancy of the shadow around his face.  I also learned I don’t like my signature much and so, I will have to practice this too.

Leave a Reply

