Prepping boards to paint

I’ve been doing a lot of research in preparation for painting. I realized that I would best use my fragmented time by creating smaller works of art rather than large paintings. It would also serve to get my ideas down quickly rather than work each of them over several weeks.

Also in my research, it appears many artists paint small works on hardboard rather than stretched canvas. They are smaller than stretched canvas and firm for plein air studies. Being a DIYer, I began by sealing both sides with polyurethane to waterproof, and painted the back sides with latex based paint for ease of handling. The paint surfaces and sides were gessoed three times and lightly sanded for a smooth finish. Stacking them together is like a treasury of hope and anticipation. I can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

