Dashboard Hula Girl and OSA show

hula-girl-small-with-watermark

A couple weeks ago, I heard about the Oregon Society of Artist 200 for $200 show. Open to the public, the juried show will display and sell artwork by anyone willing to purchase the cradled hardboard panels, partly as a fundraiser for the organization and partly to give more artists opportunities and visibility.  It is for these reasons, I decided to go ahead and purchase 3 such boards, and now the pressure is on to put something up for it.

Going through my sketches and photos I made over the summer, I kept returning to the dashboard hula girl sketch, inspired by the week I drove my son’s car. I’m particularly drawn to whimsical and colorful subject matter, and I think this really speaks to who I am.  I did have to take several photos of my own car dashboard for reference, and finally ended up blending components of his car, my car, and my imagination.  The landscape scene is taken from a view around my own neighborhood. Everything about this painting is personal.

This 12 x 12 Acrylic painting will be shown Nov 4-Dec 1, 2016 at Oregon Society of Artists.(2185 SW Park Pl, Portland, OR 97205)  If you are in the Portland area, please consider stopping by.

Leave a Reply

